Brokenwood Wines' Chief Winemaker named 2024 Winemaker of the Year

Brokenwood Wines has consistently produced award-winning wines in its 54-year history, many of them thanks to Chief Winemaker Stuart Hordern. In recognition of this considerable contribution to Brokenwood (and the Hunter Valley wine industry more broadly), Stuart was awarded the prestigious First Creek Winemaking Services 2024 Winemaker of the Year at the Hunter Valley Legends Awards last week.

The celebrated event, which took place on Thursday, 16 May at Rydges Resort Hunter Valley, saw over 360 industry professionals and guests gather to honour the remarkable contributions within the Hunter Valley wine and tourism sector. Stuart, with his impressive track record, was a standout candidate for this year's award.

Stuart's career in winemaking is marked by excellence and dedication. With 15 vintages at Brokenwood Wines under his belt and a decade at the helm, he was recently promoted to Chief Winemaker, becoming only the second person in the winery's history to hold this esteemed position.

"It is with great pleasure and humility that I have received this award. It is a testament to the hard work and dedication we pour into every bottle at Brokenwood. This recognition highlights the high regard in which our wines are held, both critically and commercially, and celebrates the remarkable success that we have achieved over the past 12 months," Stuart said.

winemaker of the year brokenwood wines

His leadership has propelled Brokenwood to new heights, notably achieving a stellar 2023 show circuit performance with 5 trophies and 24 gold medals, as well as the 2023 Decanter World Wine Awards Best in Show for the 2017 Brokenwood ILR Reserve Semillon.

Under Stuart's guidance, the Brokenwood Graveyard Vineyard Shiraz has maintained its status as the highest level of Langton's Classification of collectible Australian wines – 1st Classified. It remains the only red wine in New South Wales to hold this distinguished position.

Raise a glass of Brokenwood wine to Stuart and this incredible achievement – we're sure his there's plenty more awards ahead of him.